Skip to Content

Inspirational women recognised in 2021 Women of the Year Awards

Last published on 16 Feb 2021 in Media Releases

Thirty of the State’s most inspirational and influential women have been named as finalists in the NSW Women of the Year Awards after a year like no other.

Minister for Women Bronnie Taylor said the tenth anniversary of the awards had seen an increase in nominations, reflecting so many outstanding contributions.

“These finalists are an inspiration to others, each one is leading the charge and showing others what it takes to make a difference and help build a safer and stronger NSW,” Mrs Taylor said

“Women were among the hardest hit by fire, flood, drought and COVID-19, yet so many stepped up and gave their all to benefit their communities.”

Last year’s Rex Airlines Regional Woman of the Year Krystaal Hinds was recognised for more than 20 years of service to the Gunning Fish River Rural Fire Brigade.

“These awards offer amazing opportunities for inspiring women to connect and gain a sense of belonging,” Ms Hinds said.

“It encourages you to keep aiming for bigger and better things.

“I want to see women set goals, tread boldly, be kind and celebrate the wins – but don’t be afraid to ask for help.”

There are seven award categories in the 2021 program, including the new ‘NSW Woman of Excellence’ which highlights women who affected lasting change in her field.

Winners will be announced on 10 March during NSW Women’s Week, at an awards ceremony at Sydney’s International Convention Centre.

Find out more about the Awards and finalists:

Full list:

NSW Aboriginal Woman of the Year Finalists:

Dr Cynthia Briggs, Walgett consultant and trainer
Helen Duroux, Tenterfield Local Aboriginal Land Council
Dixie Link-Gordon, Women's Legal Service NSW
Kristy Masella, Aboriginal Employment Strategy
June Riemer, First Peoples Disability Network
Dr Lynette Riley, Sydney School of Education and Social Work
Dawn Smith, Bourke Aboriginal Legal Service

Aware Super NSW Community Hero Finalists:

Donna Ciccia, Endometriosis Australia
Chris Cleary, StreetMed Incorporated and StreetPet
Johanna Leader, LeaderLife Dubbo
Theresa Mitchell, Agape Outreach Incorporated
Sharon Robertson, Dilly Drought Drive
Jean Vickery, Lions Club of Woolgoolga

NSW Regional Woman of the Year Finalists:

Grace Brennan, #BuyFromtheBush
Nicole Scholes-Robertson, Rural Kidney Association
Lucy Taylor and Lucy Samuels, ExtraOrdinary Outback Stories podcast
Christine Welsh, Sapphire Community Projects

NSW Woman of Excellence Finalists:

Dr Kerry Chant, NSW Chief Health Officer
Alison Covington, Good 360 Australia
Erika Gleeson, Autism Swim
Amala Groom, Artist
Kim-Louise Liddell, Non Destructive Excavations Australia Pty Ltd
Kristy Masella, Aboriginal Employment Strategy
Amanda Rose, Western Sydney Women

Harvey Norman NSW Young Woman of the Year Finalists:

Reburdah Dennis, Walgett Shire Council
Emma Finemore, St Paul's College Walla Walla Livestock Show Team
Shelby Lacey, Oak Flats Gymnastics & Acrobatics
Darian Lenton, We, Future Leaders
Emily Milton Smith, Girl Guides
Dr Samantha Wade, Illawarra Health and Medical Research Institute

The One To Watch Award

New category for women aged 7-17. Finalists to be announced soon.
Premier’s Award for NSW Woman of the Year Selected by the Premier of NSW from the winners of the above categories.

Was this content useful?