Skip to Content

CSNSW commemorates CSNSW service and sacrifice for community safety

Last published on 26 Nov 2021 in Media Releases

Staff have who dedicated their lives to protecting others and those killed on duty, will be honoured in services across the State today on Corrective Services NSW Remembrance Day.

Minister for Counter Terrorism and Corrections Anthony Roberts said the annual event also marks the lives of staff who have died from other causes while still employed, and those who have passed away after retiring.

“Every loss hits the CSNSW family hard and today, we unite to reflect on the lives of those who have worked relentlessly to keep us safe,” Mr Roberts said.

“We pause to remember the tragic loss of our colleagues, including those who paid the ultimate sacrifice while on duty. Lest we forget.”

Flags will fly at half-mast at the State's 35 prisons and the COVID-safe main service will be streamed live from the Brush Farm Corrective Services Academy cenotaph in Sydney.

Around 150 motorcyclists will also participate in the third CSNSW Remembrance Day Ride, from the Academy to Shortland Correctional Centre in Cessnock.

Corrective Services NSW Acting Commissioner Kevin Corcoran PSM said CSNSW Remembrance Day is a significant day in the CSNSW calendar.

“It’s important everyone has the opportunity to honour our colleagues, whether they’re part of a small regional community corrections office or a major metropolitan correctional centre,” Mr Corcoran added.

“My thoughts are with every correctional officer past and present, and their loves ones on what is a very emotive but powerful day for all.”

The twelve officers who died in the line of duty over the past 179 years are:

  • Henry Kingsmill Abbott at Parramatta in 1842;
  • Thomas Craig at Berrima in 1862;
  • John Carroll at Braidwood in 1867;
  • George Spinks at Windsor in 1869;
  • John Sutherland Brown at Cootamundra in 1908;
  • Alan Cooper at Bathurst in 1958;
  • Albert Hedges at Berrima in 1959;
  • Cecil Mills at Emu Plains in 1959;
  • Willy Karl Faber at Parramatta in 1978;
  • John Colin Mewburn at Long Bay in 1979;
  • Geoffrey Pearce OAM in 1997; and
  • Wayne Harold Smith in 2007.
Was this content useful?
Your rating will help us improve the website.